Finding Legal Help
You are not required to hire an attorney, but legal matters can be complicated. Consider talking to an attorney to go over your options. See the Finding Legal Help page for information about free and low cost ways to get legal help.
Como encontrar ayuda legal
Usted no está obligado a contratar un abogado, pero los asuntos legales pueden ser complicados. Considere la posibilidad de hablar con un abogado para hablar de sus opciones. Para información sobre cómo obtener ayuda legal vea nuestra página Como encontrar ayuda legal.
Registering an Office of Recovery Services (ORS) Support Order
The Office of Recovery Services (ORS) can make orders establishing paternity and requiring parents to pay child support. ORS can enforce its own orders to collect child support and has its own processes for modifying child support.
If ORS does not enforce or modify its order you can ask the court for help. The first step to ask for help is to register the ORS order with the court and then ask for the order to be confirmed.
Process for registering and confirming an ORS support order
Registering the order and confirming the order are two separate steps. Registration happens first and can lead to confirmation.
Complete the documents
The party making the request is called the petitioner. The petitioner completes a Petition to Register ORS Support Order and a Summons, available in the Forms section below.
For the coversheet, check the box on page 2, under "Judgments" for $50 that says "Abstract of Judgment/Order of Utah Court/Agency."
File the documents
To register the order, file the Petition to Register ORS Support Order and a certified copy of the ORS order in the district court in the county where the children live. If the children do not live in Utah, then file in the county where the opposing party lives.
If you need a certified copy of the order you can contact ORS.
The petitioner must pay a filing fee when they file the papers with the court. If they cannot afford the fees they can ask the judge to waive them. For more information, see the Fees and Fee Waiver web page.
Have the documents served
The petitioner must have ORS and the other party served with the Petition to Register, a copy of the ORS order, the Summons, and other documents no later than 120 days after the petition is filed.
The documents must be served by one of the methods described in Utah Rule of Civil Procedure 4(d). The petitioner must provide proof of service once service has been completed. For more information about service, see the Serving Papers web page.
The other party has 21 days (if they were served in Utah) or 30 days (if they were served outside of Utah) to respond to ("answer") the petition if they disagree with anything stated in the petition. For more information, see the Answering a Complaint or Petition web page.
The other party's options
Enforcing a confirmed order
If the court grants the request to register the order it will enter an Order Confirming Registration of ORS Support Order. Once the court has entered this order the ORS order has the same effect as a court order. All parties must obey court orders.
If a party does not obey a court order, the other party may file a motion asking the court to enforce the order. The enforcement order can include a judgment for money owed. The court may also find a party in contempt of court and order the party to pay a fine or serve time in jail. For information and forms, see the Motion to Enforce Domestic Order (Order to Show Cause) web page.
Modifying a child support order
Either parent can ask the court to increase or decrease the amount of child support ordered if there have been significant changes in income or in other circumstances since the support order was entered. For information and forms, see the Modifying Child Support web page.
ORS cannot make orders regarding child custody or parent-time. If you need an order for those issues see the Parentage web page for information and forms.
Required forms for the moving party
- Civil coversheet - PDF | Word
- Petition to Register ORS Support Order - PDF | Word
- Order Confirming Registration of ORS Support Order - PDF | Word
Required forms for the opposing party
- Fee Waiver
- Filing Procedures
- Finding an Attorney
- Free Legal Clinics
- Going to Court
- Map of Utah Courts
- Modifying Child Support
- Motion to Enforce Domestic Order (Order to Show Cause)
- Public and Non-public Records
- Registering a Foreign Child Custody or Child Support Order
- Rules of Civil Procedure
- Serving Papers
- Uniform Interstate Family Support Act, Sections 601 through 610
The Utah State Courts mission is to provide the people an open, fair, efficient, and independent system for the advancement of justice under the law.