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Navigating the Court System

UTAH SUPREME COURT
Five Justices: 10-year terms

The Supreme Court is the “court of last resort” in Utah. It hears appeals 
from capital and first-degree felony cases and all district court civil 

cases other than domestic relations cases. The Supreme Court
also has jurisdiction over judgments of the Court of Appeals,

proceedings of the Judicial Conduct Commission, lawyer
discipline, and constitutional and election questions.

JUVENILE COURT
Twenty-eight Judges: 6-year terms

One Court Commissioner
Juvenile Court is the state court with jurisdiction over 

youth under 18 years of age, who violate a state or 
municipal law. The Juvenile Court also has jurisdiction 

in all cases involving a child who is abused,
neglected, or dependent. 

COURT OF APPEALS
Seven Judges: 6-year terms

The Court of Appeals hears all appeals from the 
juvenile courts and those from the district courts 

involving domestic relations and criminal matters of 
less than a first-degree felony. It also may hear any 

cases transferred to it by the Supreme Court.

JUSTICE COURT
One hundred and eight Judges: 6-year terms

Located throughout Utah, justice courts are locally 
funded and operated courts. Justice Court cases 
include: misdemeanor criminal cases, traffic and 

parking infractions, small claims cases. 

DISTRICT COURT
Seventy-one Judges: 6-year terms

Nine Court Commissioners
District Court is the state trial court of general 

jurisdiction. Among the cases it hears are: civil cases, 
domestic relations cases, probate cases, criminal cases, 

small claims cases, appeals from justice courts.



Guide to the 
Utah State Courts 
The Administrative Office of the Utah State Courts 
is pleased to provide you with a Guide to the Utah 
State Courts. We hope this booklet is a valuable 
resource in assisting you when navigating the state 
court system. Please note the information in this 
guide applies only to the Utah State Courts and  
not Utah’s federal court, which is located in the 
Frank E. Moss Courthouse in Salt Lake City.  
For more information on the federal court, go to 
www.utd.uscourts.gov. 
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Utah State Court Structure

Justice Court Structure

Justice courts are limited jurisdiction courts not-
of-record, which means that the court proceedings 
are not recorded by any means. The authority of 
the courts is limited to the boundaries of the city or 
county in which the court is located. Individuals are 
more likely to have contact with a Justice court than 
any other court because justice courts handle the 
tens of thousands of citations that are issued every 
year for such things as traffic violations, and minor 
shoplifting incidents. The courts must follow the 
same processes as in other courts and individuals 
have all the same rights.

Justice courts have exclusive jurisdiction over class 
B and C misdemeanors and infractions committed 
within their territorial jurisdiction. Justice court 
judges have authority to issue search and arrest 
warrants, and other orders and directives that are 
necessary in criminal cases.

Four person juries hear trials in the justice courts. 
Litigants and defendants often act without an 
attorney (pro se) in justice courts.

Any person not satisfied with a judgment rendered 
in a justice court can appeal to a district court and 
receive a new trial. 

Juvenile Court Structure

The main types of cases that the juvenile courts 
hear are delinquency cases and child welfare 
cases. The juvenile courts have jurisdiction over 
individuals who are under 18 years old. The justice 
courts will have jurisdiction over minors who are 
16 or 17 years old and who commit minor traffic 
offenses. Minors who commit serious offenses may 
be referred to district court for criminal proceedings. 
The proceedings in juvenile court are not considered 
criminal and minors are not considered to have 
been convicted of crimes. 
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Child welfare cases involve accusations of adults 
abusing or neglecting a minor. The focus in these 
cases is to protect minors. The court will attempt 
to work with the adults who are alleged to have 
committed the abuse or neglect. If the individuals 
should no longer have contact with the particular 
minor, the juvenile court can terminate all of the 
rights that the individual has with the minor.

District Court Structure

The district court is the trial court of general 
jurisdiction. The district court has jurisdiction over 
all civil cases, felonies, and class A misdemeanors. 
An important component of the district court 
caseload is domestic relations cases. These cases 
include contested and uncontested divorces, child 
custody, child support, adoption, and paternity. 
In the larger districts, court commissioners assist 
the district court judges in handling these by 
conducting hearings and making recommendations 
to the judges. If a party disagrees with a court 
commissioner’s order, the party may file an 
objection and have the issue resolved by the judge 
assigned to the case.

Utah’s Appellate Courts

The Utah system has two appellate courts: the Utah 
Supreme Court and the Utah Court of Appeals. 

The primary function of appellate courts is to review 
the decisions of the trial courts and administrative 
agencies. If a party is unhappy with the final 
decision in a case, that party has a right to appeal 
the trial court’s decision. 

The party that brings an appeal is called the 
appellant. The party that resists the appeal, 
contending the trial court’s decision was correct, 
is called the appellee. Both the appellant and the 
appellee submit to the appellate court a written 
statement - called a brief - explaining their positions. 
The appellate court may grant each side an 
opportunity to present oral argument. An appellate 
court does not hear evidence. 

After reviewing the case, the judges confer and vote. 
One of the judges writes an opinion explaining why 
the trial court was correct or why the trial court 
erred. The opinion is also important to those who 
may have similar legal questions in the future.
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Rulings

The appellate courts issue one of four types of 
rulings: 

n	 Affirmed: upholds the decision of the lower 
court.

n	 Reversed: overturns the decision of the lower 
court and replaces it with the appellate court’s 
decision.

n	 Affirmed in Part and Reversed in Part: approves 
certain of the lower court’s decisions and 
overturns others.

n	 Reversed and Remanded: overturns the lower 
court’s decision and sends the case back for 
further proceedings.

General Information About 
Court Proceedings
The following are some of the topics about which 
the court regularly receives questions.

Search Warrants 

A search warrant is an order issued by a judge 
to a police officer allowing that officer to search 
for and seize evidence of criminal activity. The 
search warrant must be based on probable cause 
and must describe the thing, place, or person to 
be searched and the items to be seized. Evidence 
may also be seized when the officer has probable 
cause to believe that the evidence establishes illegal 
conduct and there isn’t enough time to get a search 
warrant before the evidence might be moved or 
destroyed. Probable cause means that, based on the 
information provided by the officer, the officer is 
likely to find evidence of illegal conduct at the place 
to be searched. 

The search warrant documents become public 20 
days after the warrant was issued, unless the judge 
seals the documents.
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Interpreters

For those who do not speak English, the courts 
will provide an interpreter.  A list of interpreters is 
available on the court’s web site at www.utcourts.
gov. The Administrative Office of the Courts certifies 
interpreters in various languages, including Spanish 
and Vietnamese and maintains a list of certified 
interpreters. Interpreters are provided for all parties in 
a case, including witnesses, victims, and parents for 
Juvenile Court matters. Spectators do not have a right 
to a government-paid interpreter

Interpreters cannot give legal counsel or any other type 
of advice related to a litigant’s case. The interpreter 
must remain neutral and their only role is to interpret 
from English into the litigant’s native language.

Right to Counsel

The United States and Utah Constitutions guarantee 
every criminal defendant the right to counsel 
in criminal proceedings. For those who cannot 
afford an attorney, the prosecuting government 
will pay for an attorney if the defendant faces a 
substantial probability of receiving jail time. A 
criminal defendant who believes that he or she is 
entitled to counsel at government expense should 
raise the issue with the court when the defendant 
first appears before a judge. The court will ask the 
defendant to complete an affidavit of indigency. In 
the affidavit, the person will list income, assets, and 
liabilities. If the person’s income is less than 150% 
of the poverty guidelines established by the United 
States government, then the person will qualify for 
counsel. For those who make over 150% of the 
poverty guidelines, counsel might still be available if 
the person is otherwise able to show that the person 
cannot afford to hire an attorney at his or her own 
expense. The court has discretion to appoint counsel 
in those circumstances. 

Filing fees in Civil Cases

A litigant who cannot afford to pay the filing 
fee in a civil case may complete an affidavit of 
impecuniousity to have the filing fee waived. The 
affidavit of impecuniousity will be reviewed by a 
judge at some point in the case. The standard for 
waiving filing fees is different from the standard for 
appointing counsel in a criminal case. In civil cases, 
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the court will determine whether the litigant has the 
amount of the filing fee available from some resource. 
If an individual has uncommitted income available 
from a job, a bank account, or other resource, the 
judge can require that the filing fee be paid.

Forms 

The AOC provides forms for litigants in certain types 
of cases. The forms are available on the judiciary’s 
website at www.utcourts.gov. The most commonly 
used forms are for divorces, protective orders, 
small claims, name changes, expungement, and 
probate. The courts do not provide any forms other 
than those on the website or at each court site. All 
other pleadings must be prepared by the litigant’s 
attorney, or the litigant if not represented.

Online Court Assistance Program

In addition to providing forms, the court has created 
an online assistance program, which allows litigants 
to complete some of the forms on the internet. The 
program provides assistance in the following types 
of cases: divorce, paternity, child-support, custody, 
protective orders, civil stalking, guardianship of 
a minor, and eviction cases. A fee will not be 
charged at the time the program is used. If a litigant 
completes the forms on the Internet, the litigant must 
print the forms and file those with the court. A filing 
fee and a fee for using the online program will be 
assessed at that time. To access the website, go to 
www.utcourts.gov/selfhelp.

Criminal Process
NOTE: This section is a brief overview of the 
criminal process.

Criminal cases

A criminal case occurs when the government 
has evidence that a person has committed an act 
prohibited by criminal law. A prosecutor files an 
“information” against the individual alleged to have 
broken the law. The information includes the charge 
and a brief statement of the facts supporting the 
charge. There are three classifications of criminal 
activity: felony, misdemeanor, and infraction.
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Felonies

A felony is a crime for which a defendant may be 
sentenced to prison. The court has the option of 
putting a defendant on probation instead of sending 
the defendant to prison. The court can also impose a 
fine as part of the sentence. Felonies are classified into 
four categories. Some of the crimes and maximum 
punishments in each category are listed below:

n	 Capital offense: Aggravated murder.

	 —Death, Life in Prison.

n	 First Degree: Murder, rape, child kidnapping, 
aggravated burglary, and aggravated robbery. 

	 —5 Years to life in prison. 
—$10,000 fine.

n	 Second Degree: Manslaughter, robbery, 
kidnapping, forcible sexual abuse, and 
intentional child abuse.

	 —1 to 15 years in prison.  
—$10,000 fine.

n	 Third Degree: Burglary of nondwelling, theft 
of property valued at more than $1,000 but 
less than $5,000, aggravated assault, third 
DUI in 10 years, and possession of cocaine, 
methamphetamine, LSD or heroin.

	 —0 to 5 years in prison. 
—$5,000 fine.

Misdemeanors

A misdemeanor is an offense punishable by a jail 
term but not prison. Misdemeanors are classified 
into three categories. All can be tried by a jury. 
Some of the crimes and maximum punishments are 
listed in each category below:

n	 Class A: Negligent homicide, DUI with injury, 
theft, and possession of marijuana (more than 1 
ounce, but less than 16 ounces).

	 —1 Year in jail. 
—$2,500 fine.

n	 Class B: Assault, DUI, reckless driving, 
possession of marijuana (1 ounce or less), 
shoplifting (under $300), and many traffic 
offenses.

	 —6 Months in jail. 
—$1,000 fine.
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n	 Class C: Public intoxication, no valid drivers 
license, and driving on a suspended license.

	 —30 days in jail. 
—$750 fine.

Infractions

An infraction is a minor offense punishable only by 
a fine of up to $750. There can be a trial, but not by 
a jury. Examples include city traffic violations and 
certain types of disorderly conduct.

How A Felony Comes To Trial

Pretrial Procedures

A criminal case begins when a prosecuting attorney 
files an “information.” The information lists the 
name of the defendant and a description of the 
crime alleged to have occurred. In felony cases, the 
filing of an information will have been preceded by 
one of two events: 1) the defendant was arrested 
after a law enforcement officer observed illegal 
conduct, or 2) the case is a result of a criminal 
investigation from which arrests have not yet been 
made. In the latter circumstance, the prosecutor will 
typically request an arrest warrant at the time the 
information is filed.

Jail Incarceration

When a defendant is arrested, the defendant is 
booked into jail, and evaluated to see if release 
is possible pending resolution of the case. If the 
defendant was arrested before the information was 
filed, the defendant will already have been through 
this process.

Release from Jail  

A defendant may be released from jail in one of the 
following ways: 

1) 	 post bail, or

2)	 on the defendant’s Own Recognizance (OR) 
following an evaluation. (This means that a 
defendant may be released without posting 
bail if there is reasonable assurance that the 
defendant will appear for court hearings and 
the defendant is not a significant risk to the 
community.
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Posting Bail

Bail is money that the defendant deposits with the 
court to guarantee the defendant’s appearance in 
court for all future proceedings. The court will set 
bail according to the severity of the crime. The 
court will also consider whether the defendant has a 
criminal history, is a danger to the community and 
is likely to appear for future hearings.  

Defendants unable to post cash bail may purchase 
a bail bond from a licensed company. The money 
paid to the bail company is not refundable even 
if the defendant does everything that is required. 
The company posts the bail bond with the court 
and agrees to pay the bail if the defendant does not 
appear. If the defendant fails to appear, a warrant is 
issued for the defendant’s arrest and the bail company 
will try to return the defendant to court. 

The right to bail is not absolute. Probationers, 
parolees, and repeat felons can be denied bail. 
Capital felony defendants can be denied bail if there 
is substantial evidence that the defendant committed 
the offense. 

First Appearance 

At a defendant’s first appearance in a felony case, the 
court will inform the defendant of the charges and 
of his or her rights. If the defendant cannot afford an 
attorney, the court will appoint one. If the defendant 
is still in custody, the defendant’s attorney might ask 
for a hearing to reduce the amount of bail. A date 
is also set for a preliminary hearing. A plea is not 
entered at this time.  

Preliminary Hearing

The purpose of the preliminary hearing is to 
determine whether probable cause exists to show 
1) that a crime has been committed, and 2) that 
the defendant was the person who committed the 
crime. The judge reviews the evidence presented at 
the hearing. If the judge finds probable cause, the 
defendant is bound over for trial and the defendant 
will be arraigned. If the judge decides that there is 
not sufficient evidence, the case will be dismissed. 
The defendant can waive the preliminary hearing 
and proceed directly to arraignment. 
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Arraignment

During an arraignment, the judge reads the 
information to the defendant. The defendant must 
enter a plea at this time. If the plea is guilty, the 
case is scheduled for sentencing. If the plea is not 
guilty, the court schedules a pretrial conference 
and trial dates. A defendant may also plead 1) “not 
guilty by reason of insanity”; 2) “guilty and mentally 
ill,” in which case the judge will order a mental 
evaluation; or 3) “no contest,” which is treated the 
same as a guilty plea. The judge decides whether 
to accept any of these pleas. The judge can reject, 
for example, a plea of guilty and mentally ill if the 
defendant is not mentally ill.

Pretrial Motions

Before a felony trial begins, the prosecution and the 
defense may file motions with the court. A motion is 
a formal request for the judge to decide an issue that 
should be resolved before trial. Examples include 
motions to suppress evidence or motions to compel 
the prosecution to give information to the defendant. 

Plea Bargains

A plea bargain is when the prosecution and defense 
negotiate a disposition of the case. The judge 
cannot participate in plea bargain discussions. The 
defendant must approve any plea bargain before it 
is presented to the judge. The judge must approve 
or reject any deal. A plea bargain might involve 
a guilty plea exchanged for a lesser charge or for 
dismissal of one or more charges. A victim of a 
crime has the right to be consulted on the plea deal 
and to provide input, but is not allowed to veto the 
prosecutor’s decision to enter into a plea bargain. 

If all parties and the judge accept the plea bargain, 
the next step is to sentence the defendant. If a 
settlement cannot be reached, the case is either set 
for trial or the trial date is confirmed.  

How A Misdemeanor Comes To Trial

Pretrial Procedures

Many of the procedures in misdemeanor cases are 
the same as in felonies. However, there are some 
differences at the beginning of misdemeanor cases. 
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Most misdemeanor cases begin with the issuance 
of a citation. A law enforcement officer will issue a 
citation instead of arresting a defendant. (An officer 
will often arrest the defendant for more serious 
misdemeanor charges, such as driving under the 
influence or domestic violence.) The citation directs 
an individual to appear at court within a certain 
period of time or on a specific date. The defendant 
may plead guilty on the basis of the citation, or 
plead not guilty and request that an information be 
filed. If a citation is not issued, a misdemeanor case 
begins when the prosecutor files an information. 

The court does not conduct preliminary hearings 
in misdemeanor cases. Defendants are arraigned 
at the first appearance. If the defendant enters any 
type of plea admitting guilt, the defendant is often 
sentenced at that time. If the defendant does not want 
to be sentenced at that time, the court will schedule 
sentencing no later than 45 days out. If the defendant 
pleads not guilty, the case will be set for trial. 

Civil Process
NOTE: This section is a brief overview of the 
civil process.

What is a Civil Case?

A civil case is a dispute between two or more 
individuals or entities. Most civil actions involve 
a plaintiff who is suing a defendant for monetary 
damages or other relief such as the return of 
property. Examples of civil actions include a claim 
for personal injury, contracts, or divorce.

How A Civil Case Comes To Trial
Plaintiff’s Complaint/Petitioner’s Petition

A civil case begins when a plaintiff or petitioner 
files a complaint or petition. Whether a complaint 
or a petition is filed depends on the type of case. 
The complaint or petition identifies the parties and 
describes the grievance and the remedy that is 
sought.
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Complaint/Petition and Summons Served on  
Defendant/Respondent

A copy of the complaint/petition is served on each 
of the defendants/respondents. A complaint will 
include a summons, which states that the defendant 
must respond to the complaint within 20 days. 
Many petitions do not require that an answer be 
filed and therefore a summons is not required. 
Instead, the court will automatically schedule a 
hearing on the petition. The plaintiff is responsible 
for delivering the complaint or petition to a process 
server for service.

Defendant’s Answer

The defendant must answer the complaint by either 
admitting or denying the allegations. The defendant 
will also raise defenses to the action, such as the 
running of a statute of limitation. If an answer or 
other response is not filed in time, the court may 
enter a default judgment against the defendant.

Upon being sued, the defendant may bring a coun-
terclaim against the plaintiff. If there are two or more 
defendants, one defendant may raise a cross-claim 
against another defendant. A defendant may also 
bring a claim against someone who is not originally 
in the lawsuit. This is called a third-party claim.

Discovery

Discovery allows all parties an opportunity to 
become fully informed of the relevant facts and 
issues in the lawsuit. Typical discovery includes 
parties seeking information through written 
questions (interrogatories) or gathering information 
from parties and nonparty witnesses through oral 
questions under oath (depositions). 

Pretrial Motions

After the plaintiff files a complaint, the defendant 
may, instead of filing an answer, file a motion that 
responds to the complaint but does not constitute 
an answer. The parties may also file various motions 
after the answer is filed.

There are certain motions (called “dispositive”), 
which completely resolve claims without the case 
going to trial. For example, the defendant may file 
a motion to dismiss. The court decides the motion 
based solely on the allegations in the complaint. 
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Either party may file a motion for summary judgment. 
This type of motion is filed after the discovery period. 
The judge will grant summary judgment if the 
pleadings, answers to interrogatories, depositions, and 
affidavits show that there is no genuine dispute over 
the facts and that the law dictates a ruling in favor of 
the party seeking judgment.

District Court Proceedings

Protective Orders

The district courts have authority to hear cases involv-
ing domestic violence when a victim is seeking a 
protective order. An individual who qualifies as a 
“cohabitant” and who has been subject to domestic 
abuse or violence may seek an order restraining the 
abuser from engaging in certain types of conduct. 

What is a cohabitant?

Individuals are cohabitants if they are, for example, 
current or former spouses, current or former 
roommates, or related by blood or marriage. The 
definition of cohabitant does not include those who 
are merely dating.  

Protective Order Process

An individual who seeks a protective order can 
obtain forms on the judiciary’s website or directly 
from a district court. The packet of forms will 
include a petition, temporary protective order, 
a notice of hearing, and a protective order. The 
person seeking the protective order is called the 
petitioner and must complete all the information 
in the petition. Upon completing the petition, 
the petitioner files the petition with the court. 
The petition will then be reviewed by a judge 
to determine whether the court should issue a 
temporary protective order. A temporary protective 
order is designed to give a victim immediate 
protection from an abuser and can be issued without 
giving the abuser prior notice. If the petition does 
not establish that abuse or domestic violence has 
occurred, or if the petition does not indicate that 
immediate relief is necessary, the court will deny the 
temporary protective order.
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If the court issues an order, the court will schedule 
a protective order hearing to be held with 20 
days. The court will arrange for the petition and 
the temporary protective order to be served on the 
alleged abuser, who is called the respondent. The 
court will deliver the documents to the sheriff who 
will serve those on the respondent. The petitioner 
will be asked to complete a sheet to help the Sheriff 
identify the respondent. 

At the hearing, the court will receive evidence 
from the petitioner and the respondent. The court 
will issue a protective order if it determines that 
abuse or domestic violence has occurred or if there 
is a substantial likelihood that abuse or domestic 
violence will happen in the immediate future. If the 
petitioner does not appear for the protective order 
hearing, the case most likely will be dismissed. If the 
court issues a protective order, the protective order 
will be served on the respondent at that time. If the 
respondent is not present, the order will be given to 
the sheriff for service.

The protective order contains provisions that 
require the respondent to stay away from and have 
no contact with the petitioner and any family and 
household members that the petitioner identifies. The 
order might also require a respondent to move out 
of a particular residence and might award items of 
personal property to each of the parties. For example, 
if the petitioner needs a vehicle to travel to and 
from work, the court can award the vehicle to the 
petitioner. The order can also include provisions on 
child custody, child support, and parent-time. If the 
court orders relief in these latter areas, the relief will 
not last more than five months. The party must file a 
separate action to have those types of issues resolved 
beyond five months.

Right To Trial By Jury
The Utah and U.S. Constitution provide for a trial 
by jury in both criminal and civil cases. The number 
of jurors in a civil case is eight. A capital case will 
have 12 jurors, a felony case will have eight, a 
class A misdemeanor case will have six, and other 
misdemeanor cases will have four.
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Stages Of A Trial

Depending on the type of action, a case may be 
tried before a judge or before a jury. The following 
are the steps in a trial.

Jury Selection

Jurors are selected from a random cross section of 
the population in the county in which the court 
is located. Potential jurors fill out a qualification 
questionnaire prior to coming to court. Once 
the questionnaire is returned, and if the person 
is qualified, the individual is put on a qualified 
juror list. In order to qualify, a person must be a 
citizen, 18 years old, and able to read, speak, and 
understand English. Being a convicted felon will 
disqualify a person from jury service. 

The court will select a certain number of individuals 
from the qualified juror list to appear on the day 
of trial. The judge, and in many cases the lawyers, 
will ask the potential jurors questions about their 
backgrounds and beliefs to determine any biases 
that might affect their ability to be impartial in that 
case. An attorney can ask that a juror be dismissed 
for cause, based on a juror’s biases. There is no 
limit to the number of challenges for cause a party 
may present to the judge. Both sides are entitled 
to a certain number of peremptory challenges, 
which means that they may excuse prospective 
jurors without stating a reason. A juror cannot be 
dismissed based on the juror’s race, ethnicity, or 
gender.

Opening Statement

Attorneys for each side make opening statements to 
tell the court and jurors the nature of the case, the 
evidence they will present, and the facts they expect 
to prove. 

Prosecution Evidence/Witnesses

Each side makes its case based on physical 
evidence, such as documents, pictures, and other 
exhibits and based on the testimony from witnesses.

The prosecution/plaintiff calls witnesses first. The 
defense may ask questions of the same witnesses. 
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Defense Evidence/Witnesses

Once the prosecution/plaintiff has presented its case, 
the defense may call witnesses to show weaknesses 
in the prosecution/plaintiff’s case and to establish 
the defendant’s case. The prosecution/plaintiff may 
crossexamine the witnesses.  

Rebuttal

When the defense has presented its witnesses, the 
prosecution/plaintiff may again call witnesses to 
rebut new information introduced by the defense 
witnesses. The judge may allow surrebuttal by the 
defense (a rebuttal to the rebuttal).

Jury Instructions

The judge will instruct the jury about the procedures 
and the laws it must follow. In civil cases, the 
plaintiff must show that the preponderance of the 
evidence is on the plaintiff’s side. Preponderance of 
the evidence means that there is more evidence in 
favor of one party than there is against. In criminal 
cases, the prosecution must show that the defendant 
is guilty beyond a reasonable doubt.

Closing Arguments

After the jury instructions are given, both attorneys 
summarize the evidence and testimony in an effort 
to persuade the judge or jury to decide the case in 
favor of their client. The prosecution/plaintiff offers 
its closing argument first, then the defense, and 
then the prosecution/plaintiff may respond to the 
defense’s closing argument. Either side may waive 
closing arguments.

Jury Deliberations

After closing arguments, the judge sends the jury 
to the jury room for deliberations. The jury is not 
allowed to communicate with anyone outside of 
the jury. Jurors are asked to decide the case on 
the information they heard in court. Sometimes 
the foreperson will inform the judge that the jury 
is not making any progress in reaching a majority 
or unanimous decision. The judge may direct the 
jurors to continue the deliberations or, in a criminal 
case, the court might declare a mistrial. Declaring 
a mistrial is a drastic decision and the court will 
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encourage the jurors to deliberate unless there is no 
chance of reaching a verdict. If a verdict cannot be 
reached in a criminal case, the case can be set for a 
new trial.

Verdict

In criminal cases, a verdict must be unanimous. The 
judge (in a bench trial), or the jury can reach one of 
four possible verdicts:

n	 Guilty—There is no reasonable doubt that the 
defendant committed every element of the 
offense.

n	 Not Guilty—There is reasonable doubt that the 
defendant committed the offense.

n	 Not Guilty by Reason of Insanity—The 
defendant, because of mental disease or defect, 
could not have formed the intent to commit the 
offense.

n	 Guilty and Mentally Ill—The defendant was 
mentally ill but was still able to form the intent 
to commit the offense. 

In civil cases, at least three fourths of the jurors 
must agree to the verdict. The jury in a civil case 
will determine whether the plaintiff has presented 
enough evidence to support the plaintiff’s request. 
In most cases the jury must determine whether 
the “preponderance of the evidence” supports 
the plaintiff’s side. This means that there is more 
evidence in favor of the plaintiff than against. If the 
plaintiff has requested monetary damages, the judge 
or the jury will determine how much the plaintiff 
should receive.

Sentencing/Judgment
Judges determine the sentence of a defendant. 

Criminal Case

A judge must hold a sentencing hearing between 
two and 45 days following conviction. The 
defendant may choose to waive that time frame 
and be sentenced the day of conviction or after 
45 days. In felony cases, judges usually order a 
presentence investigation report to be prepared by 
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the Department of Corrections’ Division of Adult 
Probation and Parole (AP&P). AP&P prepares a 
confidential report for the judge, which includes the 
defendant’s prior adult and juvenile record, drug 
and alcohol history, and family history. The report 
will also include the impact of the crime on the 
victim. Victims have the right to speak at sentencing. 
The judge imposes a sentence that may include 
a jail or prison term, probation, fine, restitution, 
treatment, and any other condition to promote the 
punishment and rehabilitation of the defendant.

Capital Case

In capital cases, a defendant may request a jury for 
the sentencing phase of the case. Defense counsel 
introduces evidence to show that a death sentence is 
not warranted, and the state may introduce evidence 
in favor of a death sentence. The jury or judge then 
deliberates to determine whether the person should 
be given the death penalty or a life sentence. The 
jury can determine whether the life sentence does or 
does not have the possibility of parole.

Civil Case

In a civil case, the jury or judge may award money 
damages or other relief. The court may also award 
attorneys’ fees to the winning party if there are 
circumstances that justify such an award. The 
court may also award the winning party its costs in 
preparing the case.

Juvenile Court Proceedings
Children Who Violate the Law (Delinquency Cases)	

When it is alleged that a juvenile committed a crime, 
a law enforcement officer will report the alleged 
offense to the juvenile court. Cases are assigned to an 
intake officer who screens the case. The intake officer 
might meet with the juvenile and his or her parents 
to determine what action is necessary. If the juvenile 
denies the charge, the intake officer will set a time for 
a hearing with a judge. 

If the juvenile admits the charge, the intake officer 
has two options. The intake officer may refer the 
matter to the county prosecutor, or the officer 
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may develop a nonjudicial agreement that creates 
obligations and penalties for committing the 
delinquent act. These obligations and penalties can 
include restitution, fines, and community service. If 
the agreement is fulfilled, the juvenile’s case will not 
go to court. The court will not offer a non-judicial 
agreement on a serious offense. 

Juvenile court hearings are less formal, but the 
court must still ensure that the juvenile’s rights 
are protected. Juveniles must be notified of all the 
charges against them. They have the right to an 
attorney, the right against self incrimination, and the 
right to confront witnesses. 

Dispositions 

The disposition that a juvenile receives depends 
on many factors, such as the type of offense that 
has been committed, as well as the juvenile’s past 
record. Restitution, fines, and community service 
are the most common penalties for juveniles. 
Juveniles who commit serious crimes or are repeat 
offenders can be placed on probation and/or sent 
to a detention center. Juveniles who commit the 
most serious crimes can be committed to a juvenile 
correctional facility until the juvenile turns 21 
years old. 

Can a juvenile be tried in an adult court?

A juvenile can be tried as an adult in the following 
circumstances:

1. 	 Any 16 or 17 year old accused of murder.

2. 	 Any 16 or 17 year old who has previously 
been sentenced to a secure facility and is then 
charged with a felony.

3. 	 Any 16 or 17 year old charged with one of 10 
designated felonies against a person is charged 
as an adult in juvenile court. The juvenile 
will be bound over to district court unless the 
juvenile convinces the juvenile court judge that 
there are compelling reasons to keep the case in 
juvenile court. 

4. 	 Any juvenile 14 or older charged with a 
felony can be transferred to district court if the 
prosecutor convinces the juvenile court judge 
that it is in the state’s best interest to try the 
juvenile as an adult. 
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5. 	 Any 16 or 17 year old who receives a citation 
for a minor traffic or boating offense will be sent 
to justice court.

What happens to a juvenile’s record?

Generally, only the juvenile, the parents or guardian, 
and the attorneys have access to a juvenile’s record. 
If a youth is 14 or older and commits an offense that 
would be considered a felony in district court, certain 
parts of the juvenile’s record will be considered 
public after the petition is filed. If a youth is later 
convicted in an adult court, his or her record may be 
made available to adult probation and parole for use 
in preparing a presentence report. 

A juvenile may file a petition to expunge his or her 
record. The judge may expunge the record if the 
juvenile is 18 years or older and has been released 
from the court’s jurisdiction for at least a year. The 
court may expunge any offense except murder.

Children Who Are Victims 

Abuse, neglect, or dependency 

An abused child is one who has suffered or been 
threatened with nonaccidental physical or mental 
harm, sexual exploitation, or has been the victim 
of sexual abuse. A neglected child is one who 
has been abandoned, mistreated, or abused by a 
parent, guardian, or custodian or who is at risk 
of such harm, or one whose parent, guardian, or 
custodian fails to provide proper care, subsistence, 
or education. A dependent child is one who is 
homeless or without proper care through no fault of 
the parent or custodian.

Process

The Utah Code requires anyone who has 
information that a child has been abused to report 
the abuse to a law enforcement agency or the 
Department of Child and Family Services (DCFS). 
DCFS initiates most of the child welfare cases 
filed in juvenile court. However, anyone can file a 
petition in the juvenile court alleging that a child 
is abused, neglected, or dependent. The state may 
place children who are in immediate danger into 
protective custody before a petition is filed. If a child 
has been physically harmed, the court can order 
emergency medical treatment.
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If a child is removed from his or her home, the court 
must hold a shelter hearing within 72 hours. The 
purpose of the hearing is to determine where the 
child should remain while the case proceeds. The 
court can order the child to be in the custody of the 
parents, relatives, or DCFS, depending on which 
placement provides the best and safest conditions 
for the child. 

A pretrial hearing is held after the petition is filed. 
The parents are notified of the date and time of 
the hearing and told that they have the right to an 
attorney. If the parents do not attend, the court 
proceeds to decide the case. If the parents appear 
and admit that the allegations are true, the judge 
will determine how to protect the welfare of the 
child. If the parents appear and deny the allegations, 
a trial date is set.  

Juvenile court remedies

The driving principle in juvenile court is “the 
best interest of the child.” Children remain with 
their parents or guardians whenever it is safe and 
appropriate for the child. Children may remain with 
their parents, subject to certain conditions, such as 
attending counseling and receiving regular visits 
from a DCFS worker. In some cases, the children 
will be temporarily taken away while the parents 
have a chance to comply with the court’s order to 
receive social services. If a parent is found to be 
unfit or has abandoned the child, the court may 
order that the parent immediately loses his or her 
parental rights to the child. 

If both parents lose their parental rights, the juvenile 
court may place the child in the care of a relative or 
the state. The court can proceed with an adoption if 
an adoptive family is available. 

Small Claims
A small claims action can be filed if the request for 
damages is $10,000 or less. The case should be filed 
in the justice court that has jurisdiction over the 
defendant. A court has jurisdiction over the defendant 
if the defendant resides within the boundaries served 
by the court or if the defendant committed the 
alleged acts within those boundaries.  
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A small claims court can only award money 
judgments. A small claims judge cannot order a 
return of property or evict someone from a residence.

A person can obtain small claims forms on the 
judiciary’s website or from the court where the 
individual will be filing the small claims case. 
The individual should complete the small claims 
affidavit and file it with the court clerk. The clerk will 
schedule a date for a small claims trial. The clerk 
will then give a copy of the affidavit back to the 
plaintiff to have the affidavit served on the defendant. 
The plaintiff must find someone who will serve the 
affidavit, such as a constable or process server. 

When the small claims trial is held, both the plaintiff 
and defendant should appear with all their evidence 
and witnesses. The small claims proceedings 
are informal and are usually conducted without 
attorneys. The plaintiff will present his or her case 
first, and then the defendant. Both sides will have 
an opportunity to ask the other side questions. The 
small claims judge will issue a decision at the trial 
and will complete a judgment form either awarding 
money or determining that the plaintiff did not make 
out a sufficient case. 

A person can collect a small claims judgment 
through such means as garnishment or execution. 
Garnishment is a process by which an individual 
attaches money from a defendant’s bank account or 
employer. Execution is a process by which a sheriff 
or constable collects the defendant’s property and 
conducts a sale. The proceeds from the sale will go 
to the plaintiff to help pay the judgement.

Common Legal Terms
Adjudicate—Giving or pronouncing a judgment or 
decree, or rendering a decision on a matter before 
the court. 

Adjudicatory Hearing—This is a juvenile court term 
for the proceeding that is similar to the trial in a 
district court. 

Affidavit—A written and sworn statement witnessed 
by a notary public or other official possessing the 
authority to administer oaths. 

Aftercare—This is a juvenile court term for what is 
considered the same as parole. 
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Arraignment—In a felony case, the proceeding after 
the indictment or bindover at which the defendant 
comes before a judge in district court, is informed 
of the charges, and enters a plea. In a misdemeanor 
case, the initial appearance before a judge at which 
the criminal defendant enters a plea. In juvenile 
court, the first hearing after a petition has been filed. 

Bind Over—A judge’s decision to hold a criminal 
defendant for trial. 

Brief—A lawyer’s written statement of a client’s 
case filed in appellate court. It usually contains a 
summary of the facts in the case, the pertinent laws, 
and an argument of how the law applies to the facts 
supporting the client’s position. 

Denial—This is a juvenile court term that in district 
court is referred to as a not guilty plea. 

Detention—Similar to jail, it is incarceration for 
juveniles. 

Disposition—What is referred to as sentencing 
in district court is referred to as a disposition in 
juvenile court. 

Ex parte Order—By or for one party only. Ordinarily 
courts are not allowed to engage in communications 
with one party only (ex parte communications). 
Both parties must be heard. There are exceptions 
specifically authorized by law, such as protective 
orders. 

Fiduciary—A person who has assumed a special 
relationship to another person or another person’s 
property, such as a trustee, administrator, executor, 
lawyer, or guardian. The fiduciary must exercise the 
highest degree of care to maintain and preserve the 
person’s right and/or property that are within his/her 
charge. 

First Appearance—In a felony case, the initial court 
hearing at which the defendant is read the charges 
against him/her. 

Found Delinquent—This is a juvenile court term. It 
means the same as guilty. 

Guardian ad Litem—In Utah State Court 
proceedings, a lawyer appointed by a court to look 
after the interests of an infant, child, or incompetent 
person during court proceedings. 

Impanel—To seat a jury. 
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In Camera—In the judge’s chambers; in private. 

Indictment—An accusation of a criminal offense 
made by a grand jury. 

Information—The first paper filed in a criminal 
prosecution that states the crime of which the 
defendant is accused. 

Interlocutory Appeal—An appeal to an appellate 
court of a temporary or provisional order of a trial 
court. The appellate court is not required to accept 
appeals of interlocutory orders. 

Judgment—The official decision of a court disposing 
of a case. 

Mediation—A form of alternative dispute resolution 
in which the parties bring their disputes to a neutral 
third party who helps them agree on a settlement. 

No Contest—A plea of no contest has the same 
legal effect as a plea of guilty for purposes of the 
action before the court; however, the plea may not 
be used against the defendant as an admission of 
guilt in a civil suit brought on the same facts. 

Offense—This is the juvenile court law term for 
something that is a crime. 

Petition—There are various types of petitions, 
including the document filed by the state charging 
a juvenile with a crime. (A private petition means 
a family member is bringing the petition to court 
versus the state.) The petition alleges either 
delinquent conduct or that a child has been abused, 
neglected, or is dependent. The corresponding adult 
law term is to “file charges.”

Plaintiff—A person who files a lawsuit. 

Preliminary Hearing (Prelim)—A hearing to 
screen a felony criminal case to decide whether 
there is enough evidence to warrant a trial. If the 
judge determines there is sufficient evidence, the 
defendant is “bound over” for trial. The defendant 
may waive this hearing. 

Probable Cause (PC) Statement—A judicial 
finding that there was reasonable grounds for law 
enforcement to arrest or search someone. 

Pro Se—In one’s own behalf. Refers to a party 
representing himself or herself in a court action 
without an attorney. 
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Roll Call Hearing—A hearing that addresses one 
of a number of actions such as scheduling, review 
status of the case, appoint counsel, set a preliminary 
hearing date. 

Sentencing—A court’s determination of punishment 
to be inflicted on person convicted of a crime. 

Concurrent sentences for more than one violation 
that are to be served at the same time. 

Consecutive sentences for more than one violation 
that are to be served one after the other. 

Suspended sentences are sentences ordered by the 
court but not imposed, which gives the defendant an 
opportunity to complete probation. 

Show Cause—An order requiring a person to appear 
in court and state why certain action should not be 
taken. 

Stipulation—An agreement by attorneys on opposite 
sides of a case on a matter pertaining to the 
proceedings. It is not binding unless agreed to by 
the parties. Most stipulations must be in writing. 

Suppression Hearing—A hearing on a criminal 
defendant’s motion to prohibit the prosecutor’s 
use of evidence alleged to have been obtained in 
violation of the defendant’s rights. 

Summary Judgment—A judgment for one party in a 
lawsuit before the conclusion of a full trial. 

Summons—A notice to the named person that an 
action has been commenced against him/her in 
court and he/she is required to appear and answer 
the complaint. 

Take into Custody—This is a juvenile court term 
that in district court is referred to as the arrest. 

Verdict—The formal and unanimous decision or 
finding made by a jury or the court as to the guilt or 
innocence of a defendant. 

Voir Dire—The questioning of potential jurors by 
the judge and the lawyers to determine any biases, 
prejudices, or other reasons for disqualification. 

Writ of Certiorari—A procedure asking the Utah 
Supreme Court to review a decision of the Utah 
Court of Appeals. If the writ is denied, the higher 
court refuses to hear the appeal and the judgment 



in the lower court stands unchanged. If the writ is 
granted, the higher court hears the appeal. 

For a complete listing of legal terms, go to www.
utcourts.gov/resources/glossary.htm

How Do I Find Information 
About A Court Case?
Xchange is an online resource of district and justice 
court case information. To track a case through the 
court system, an individual can enter a person’s 
name or case number, which produces the case 
docket. The docket includes the case name and 
number, type of case, violation or charge, the 
judge assigned to the case, and the case history, 
including arraignments, scheduled hearings, 
trials, dispositions, motions, and all the pleadings 
that have been filed. Class B&C misdemeanors, 
infractions, and small claims cases are filed in 
justice courts. Most of those are not yet available on 
Xchange, but they are being added and all of those 
cases will be available within the next two years.

To access Xchange go to a local courthouse and ask 
for the public computer terminal. 

Court Calendar

District court calendars are posted online at www.
utcourts.gov/cal. Courthouses throughout the state 
are listed here. Each court calendar includes parties’ 
names, case numbers, assigned judge, and type of 
hearing. The court calendar is usually updated each 
morning before 8:00 a.m. Members of the public are 
invited to attend any court session.
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District Court Misdemeanor Case Process
(Criminal Case)

Not guilty plea

Sentencing
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Small Claims Process

Small claims affidavit and order to appear

Small claims trial

Judgment

Appeal to District Court

Dismissed
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Defendant file answer or
initial motions

Defendant files no answer
within 20 days

Discovery (interrogatories,
depositions, etc.)

District Court Civil Case Process
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Trial (jury or bench)

Jury verdict judgment

Post-trial motions
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Pretrial motions/conference

Default judgment.
Case resolved without trial
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Juvenile Court Time Requirements for
Dependency, Neglect and Abuse Cases
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Other
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Appeals Route
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Court of Appeals Appellate Process
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Supreme Court Appellate Process

Appellant files notice
of appeal within

30 days after trial
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Oral argument
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Judicial District Locator Map



Legal Resources
-Utah State Courts: www.utcourts.gov
-Legal terms and definitions: www.utcourts.gov/courts/juv/
intro/glossary
-Link to rules: www.utcourts.gov/resources/rules/ucja/index
-Utah State Bar website www.utahbar.org/ (to locate an 
attorney’s contact information)
-Utah Open Government Guide and Utah Media Handbook: 
www.spj.org/uthead
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