Rule 14-402. Definitions.

As used in this article:

(a) "active emeritus" or "active emeritus lawyer" means a lawyer who has been a member of the Bar for 50 years or who is 75 years of age as of July 1 of the current year and who qualifies for active emeritus status as defined under the Bar's rules, regulations and policies;

(b) "active status" or "active status lawyer" means a lawyer who has elected to be on active status as defined under the Bar's rules, regulations and policies;

(c) "admission on motion applicant or lawyer" means a lawyer who has applied for reciprocal admission as defined under Rule 14-705 or has been admitted as such;

(d) "approved law school" means an ABA approved law school as defined under Rule 14-701;

(e) "Bar" means the Utah State Bar;

(f) "Board" means the Utah State Board of Mandatory Continuing Legal Education as set forth in Rule 14-403;

(g) "Board of Bar Commissioners" means the governing board of the Bar;

(h) "certificate of compliance" means a written report evidencing a lawyer's completion of accredited CLE as required and defined under Rule 14-414;

(i) "CLE" means continuing legal education;

(j) "full exam" means all components of the Bar Examination as defined under Rule 14-710;

(k) "inactive status" or "inactive status lawyer" means a lawyer who has elected to be on inactive status as defined under the Bar's rules, regulations and policies;

(l) "MCLE" means mandatory continuing legal education as defined under this article;

(m) "new admittee" means a lawyer newly admitted to the Utah State Bar;

(n) “NLTP” means the New Lawyer Training Program as set forth in Rule 14-404 and Rule 14-808;

(o) "presumptively approved sponsor" means those CLE sponsors or providers who qualify under the standards set forth in Rule 14-412;

(p) "presumptive CLE accreditation" means those CLE courses or activities that qualify under the standards set forth in Rule 14-412;

(q) "OPC" means the Bar's Office of Professional Conduct;

(r) "OPC ethics school" means the OPC annual seminar on the Utah Rules of Professional Conduct which provides six CLE or NLCLE credit hours; and

(s) "Supreme Court" means the Utah Supreme Court.