Close Window | Mobile Website

Paternity Establishment in Utah


Español

Paternity Establishment in Utah

Child(ren) born to unmarried parents: Generally, the mother has sole legal and physical custody of the child(ren) until a court orders otherwise.


Three (3) Ways To Establish Paternity

 

Voluntary Declaration Of Paternity (VDP)

Administrative Paternity Order

Judicial Paternity Order

What's This?

Unmarried parents may sign a VDP stating that a man is the biological father of the child(ren). The completed and signed VDP is filed with the Office of Vital Records and Statistics (health.utah.gov). This adds the fatherís name to Utah birth certificate. It can also change the childís name if the child is less than 5 years old.

The Office of Recovery Services (ors.utah.gov) issues a Notice of Agency Acton (NAA) action to both parents after one of the parents applies for support. Both parents may respond to the NAA. This adds the fatherís name to Utah birth certificate. It can also change the childís name if the child is less than 5 years old. Child Medical insurance is also established.

A Judicial Paternity Order is the result of a court action. A parent may use the Online Court Assistance Program (OCAP) to begin a Decree of Parentage in order to involve the court. This adds the fatherís name to Utah birth certificate. It can also change the childís name if the child is less than 5 years old. Child Medical insurance is also established.

Mediation?

Mediation may be an option for parents wishing to create a parenting plan that addresses parent-time, custody, support, and other child related issues. Parties MUST file any agreement reached in mediation in the form of a court stipulation for the agreements to become court enforceable.

Mediation may be an option for parents wishing to create a parenting plan that addresses parent-time, custody, support, and other child related issues. Parties MUST file any agreement reached in mediation in the form of a court stipulation for the agreements to become court enforceable.

Mediation may be an option for parents wishing to create a parenting plan that addresses parent-time, custody, support, and other child related issues. In the Third Judicial District, under UCA §30-3-38, parents experiencing parent-time and/or co-parenting issues are referred to mediation prior to obtaining a court hearing.

Child Support?

 

Child support is established for the child(ren) based upon the Income Tables for Child Support Establishment.
Child Support Calculator (orscsc.dhs.utah.gov)

Child support is established for the child(ren) based upon the Income Tables for Child Support Establishment.
Child Support Calculator (orscsc.dhs.utah.gov)

Parent-Time Issues?

 

 

Parent-time issues can be addressed establishing court-ordered parent-time for the non-custodial parent. If parents are unable to agree on the parent-time schedule, the may refer to the default Utah Minimum Schedule for Parent-time UCA §30-3-35.
Program Forms and Statutes

Custody Issues?

 

 

Custody is established creating court-ordered custody in the form of joint physical custody, joint legal custody, or sole physical custody.
What kinds of child custody are there, and how will custody be decided?


Page Last Modified: 10/4/2012
Close Window